February 10th, 2004

out-of-place, costume
  • alsatia

[comments] banning users

FAQ #20 How do I ban/unban a user from commenting in my journal?

The first option under "To ban a user" says:

* After you delete a comment from any LiveJournal user, a checkbox shows up that lets you ban them. If that is selected, that user will be unable to leave further comments in your journal.

There's no indication there of how to delete a comment. I propose adding a link to the comment deletion FAQ so that it reads like this:

* After you delete a comment (http://www.livejournal.com/support/faqbrowse.bml?faqid=15) from any LiveJournal user, a checkbox shows up that lets you ban them. If that is selected, that user will be unable to leave further comments in your journal.
unicorn pusheen

Small change to FAQ 3

Could we add a phrase to FAQ 3 - How do I delete an entry that states that not only is the entry permanently deleted, all comments attached to it are also deleted? Seems self-explanatory, yes, but we do get requests that specifically ask "but what about the comments." Adding in the highlighted text (or something similar) would be enough, I think:

"This will permanently delete the entire entry and its attached comments."

Something that just gets the 'comments' covered as well.
Morgan Webb 2
  • highway

FAQ: 180 -- Rewording -- possible confusion?

I believe there is a contradiction to the wording of the FAQ 180 (How can I buy more user pictures?) which states:

You will only be able to use the additional user pictures for the time that you choose to pay for. When your add-on time expires, which is independent of your paid account expiration time, ...

Later on the next paragraph, it states:

You can only purchase user picture add-on time for the length of your paid account. If your paid account expires before your add-on time expires, your userpics will be inactivated, but they will be available again when you choose to pay for your account again.

I think a better wording would be:

Your additional user pictures will only be available for the length of time you purchase and as long as your account remains a paid account.

If your paid account expires before the end of the additional user picture time you purchased, your additional user pictures will be inactivated but remain on the LiveJournal server for six months. If your account does not return to paid status within six months, your additional user pictures will be removed from the server, and you will need to re-upload them if you upgrade your account after this six-month period.

When either your paid account or your additional user picture time expires, the system will deactivate enough of your least-used user pictures to bring you to your account's usual limit in accordance with the information at http://www.livejournal.com/support/faqbrowse.bml?faqid=46.


Opinions? Comments?

Updated (2004-02-10 // 16:30 ET): The above block has been updated with better wording.