March 15th, 2006

new me
  • arie

FAQ 114 & FAQ 193

I've got three things for these two FAQs:

  1. FAQ 193 states: "You can only use the add-on userpic space for the length of your Paid Account. If your paid account expires before your add-on userpic space time expires, your userpics will be deactivated, but they will be available when you choose to pay for your account again."

    That's not a very clear description of what actually happens. What happens is the system saves the number of days remaining and "freezes" them. Then, when they renew their paid account those exact number of days are credited. So, when they renew they get the full time they had remaining when it expires. People keep thinking the clock's still ticking down and they'll have them if they renew before the original expiration date.

    Suggest change to: "You can only use the add-on userpic space for the length of your Paid Account. If your paid account expires before your add-on userpic space time expires, your userpics will be deactivated, but the number of days remaining before your add-on expires are saved and they will be available when you choose to pay for your account again."

  2. FAQ 114 should link to FAQ 193 in further reading.

  3. FAQ 114 really needs a hard scrubbing. It's difficult to read through and find things in its current form. Users are usually interested in a specific one or two features when their paid time expires and it's very hard to find info on a specific feature. This FAQ would be much more effective as a bulleted list:
    • Custom Mood Themes: blah blah blah

    • S1 Style System:blah blah blah

    • etc.
unicorn pusheen

question regarding adding the news journal as a friend

This may not be the best place to bring this up, but it's at least potentially a 'is there a place to document this, if nothing else' issue, so here we go.

As this request points out, when you add the news journal as a friend, you get the standard message you'd get as if you added a personal journal -- "You are granting this user access to see your FO entries." Which isn't true, and probably freaks more than a few people out.

As the news journal is a special journal of type N, I guess, is there any way to change the message that they see?

And if not, is there an appropriate FAQ somewhere that could be updated with a line about 'Note that in the specific instance of adding the 'news' journal to your friends list, don't worry, no one will be able to read your entries about how much you love RuPaul' or whatever?
new me
  • arie

FAQ 261

Our brand new userpic loyalty FAQ needs a bit of a clarification tweak.

The one extra userpic per continuous year of paid time isn't historical. The 1 per 3 months of paid time is, but not the 1 extra for each year of continuous paid time. That one you only get from this point forward.

So, for example, I...

Bought 6 months of paid time in 2004
Bought 12 months of paid time in 2005
And am currently a paid member
I would get:

2 loyalty userpics for the 6 months of paid time
4 loyalty userpics for the 12 months of paid time
For a total of 6 extra userpics.

If I bought ANOTHER 12 month paid account today, then I would get 5 more -- 4 for the one-every-three-months and a bonus one for the year of continuous time.

I can't suggest any wording tweaks right this second, but the first and last two paragraphs need to be edited to clarify this.

Thanks! You guys are awesome!