In the FAQ about Poll creation the three options for privacy are All, Friends, or No one. The last term is the confusing one; it would be pointless to create a poll unless somebody could see the results. From fiddling around with polls, I know that when the "none" term is used, everyone can still see the raw results of the poll (ie, the totals of how many people voted for what), but only the creator can see who actually voted for what item... perhaps the documentation should be edited to reflect that.
I wasn't quite sure if the best thing was to post this suggestion here, or to mail it to opiummmm, <a href="http://www.livejournal.com/talkread.bml?itemid=11977490>as asked before</a>; the answer was a touch vague as to the proper channels of communication (perhaps another thing to either add to the documentation or tack on to the group description). I hope I've helped and not made a complete ass of myself here. ^_^