(And I don't know if somebody else has proposed this before.)
I think that the FAQ text would be hundreds of times better legible if the other FAQ links weren't in the middle of the text. If you are reading a sentence, then brackets open (or not) and a raw link disrupts the whole text flow, then you have a hard time finding the next bit of text that goes after the original sentence. And of course you'll think that this is no problem for you, but considering that the average LJ user probably isn't as smart and/or literate as an lj_userdoc member, I would be astonished if this was a huge problem for any of you.
I therefore suggest that the relevant links for each FAQ (and to HowTo and so on) are added after the actual FAQ text, ordered by keywords that have been used in the text (not the FAQ title), so that the user can find the FAQ containing further information about this or that topic. Another argument for this would be that the user is looking up this very FAQ in order to find precisely the information specified in the title and in the text, and if the user still has questions after having read the FAQ text, they can look for further information in the following links.
To kinda visualize this, I have altered FAQ #185 to show what I mean (after the lj-cut).
*ducks and runs*
Can I remove people from my "Friend Of" list?
No, you cannot remove someone from your "Friend of" list. LiveJournal gives users complete control over whom they list as friends. Allowing users to remove people from their "Friend of" lists would give them control over someone else's choice of friends. Also, there would be no way to prevent the user in question from simply adding you to their Friends list again.
If you are uncomfortable with a certain username displaying on your "Friend of" list, you can hide this list so that it does not display to other users when they are viewing your User Info page. Hiding this list also hides your "Member of" list. You can't, however, hide your Friends list or the list of communities to which you have posting access, since you are always able to remove someone from your Friends list or leave a community at any time.
However, keep in mind that hiding your "Friend of" list does not make it entirely inaccessible. For example, users with paid accounts can still use the Directory to retrieve this information. Additionally, certain off-site tools may also have access to it.
If you do not want your entries read by a particular user, you should make your entries either Friends Only or Private. Public entries are viewable by anyone, whether they are viewing the entries through their Friends page or by visiting your journal directly.
Similarly, when someone adds you to their Friends list, they do not gain access to your Friends Only or Private entries. However, you will see all of your own entries on their Friends page while you are logged in. This is simply because you always have access to view your own entries. See for more information.
Hiding your friends list, removing users from your friends list:
Leaving a community:
Making entries Friends Only or Private:
Which of my entries can other users see?