I am I (bridgetester) wrote in lj_userdoc,
I am I
bridgetester
lj_userdoc

[memories] Multi-delete and deleting references to deleted posts

There have been a lot of requests in the past week or two about deleting memories references to deleted entries. Memories: FAQ 47 does have information on multi-delete, which is the only method at the moment. However, people seem to be overlooking multidelete, as it's's buried in the Deleting Memories section after the normal editing method for deleting memories and it doesn't specifically mention that it can be used for that.

So this section should be changed to stand out more and specify that it can be used for this purpose. If not sectionalized, another phrase or sentence should be added to emphasize multidelete's usefulness.

Edit: isabeau had the same idea about separation and emphasis, but I really think this section would benefit from a separate section header.

This request states that editing the memory once worked. Anyone know whether that was true once, and if so, why it changed?




DELETING MEMORIES

To delete a memory, simply erase the description you have given it, then hit the "submit" button. This will only remove the entry from your memory list. It will not delete the entry.

You can also delete memories in bulk by going to the memory category and adding &multidelete=1 to the end of the URL. This will provide checkboxes next to each of the entries in that category. Check the box next to each memory you wish to delete, then click the "Delete Selected" button. Again, this will delete the entries from your memory list, but it will not delete the entries.



DELETING MEMORIES

To delete a memory, simply erase the description you have given it, then hit the "submit" button. This will only remove the entry from your memory list. It will not delete the entry.

USING MULTIDELETE

You can also delete memories in bulk or delete memories for deleted entries by going to the memory category and adding &multidelete=1 to the end of the URL. This will provide checkboxes next to each of the memories in that category. Check the box next to each memory you wish to delete, then click the "Delete Selected" button. Again, this will delete the entries from your memory list, but it will not delete the entries.
Subscribe
  • Post a new comment

    Error

    Comments allowed for members only

    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

  • 2 comments