Galleries are created using the Create Gallery page. When you create a new gallery you are given two different ways in which you can add images to it: 'Manually' or 'Automatically by Tag'. If you choose 'Manually' you will need to add any images you want in that gallery to it manually. If you choose 'Automatically by Tag' you can specify a tag and whenever you use that tag on an image it will automatically be added to your gallery. By default this option is set to 'Manually'. Tag galleries are also automatically created for you when you assign a picture a tag you have not previously used.
If you choose 'Manually' your gallery will appear on the Manage Galleries Page and be editable from there. If you choose 'Automatically by Tag' your gallery will appear on the Manage Tags page and be editable from there. The edit interface for both types of galleries is, however, the same.
The other options available when creating your gallery are described in the Managing your gallery section below.
Managing your gallery
To manage a gallery find it on your lists of galleries and click on its name. Alternatively, when browsing your galleries, many styles include a link to the Manage Gallery page for the gallery you are viewing.
You can give the gallery a new title or description by simply typing into the appropriate boxes. Note that any HTML or LiveJournal tags entered in these boxes will be escaped.
You can change the security setting for the entire gallery using the Show To setting. This will affect who can see the gallery and the pictures it contains. If you change this setting, pictures in the gallery will also have the change applied. If any pictures already had a different setting from the gallery default or are in more than one gallery, then you will be given the choice to leave their security setting as it is or to apply the new security setting to them.
Selecting 'allow copies' will mean a 'copy gallery' link will appear to those viewing your gallery if the style you are using for your Scrapbook supports this. Other users can use this link to copy your entire gallery to their own Scrapbook. Please note that choosing to not allow copies will not stop users from being able to save and re-upload your images to their own gallery manually.
You can use the 'Add Pictures' section to change the gallery from a manual gallery to a tag gallery and back again. When you change a gallery from a manual gallery to a tag gallery and enter a tag, all the images currently in the gallery will be given that tag. Any future images tagged with that tag will automatically be placed in the gallery. If you change a tag gallery into a manual gallery then any images which currently have that tag will remain in the gallery and the tag will be removed from them.
You can change how your gallery fits into your Scrapbook by changing its links. To have the gallery displayed on the main page of your Scrapbook, it should list [Top Level] in its Linked From: list. To have the gallery displayed as a subgallery, it should list the parent gallery in its Linked From: list. You can add a link from the top level or another gallery by selecting them from the dropdown list and saving your changes. Galleries listed in the Links To: list are subgalleries of this gallery. Again, you can add sub-galleries by selecting them from the dropdown list and saving your changes. It is possible to add more than one subgallery to a gallery, but they can only be added one at a time so you will need to save the first one before you can add another.
You can also change the gallery from a manual gallery to a tag gallery and back again. when you change a gallery from a manual gallery to a tag gallery and enter a tag, all the images currently in the gallery will be given that tag. Any future images tagged with that tag will automatically be placed in the gallery. If you change a tag gallery into a manual gallery then any images which currently have that tag will remain in the gallery and the tag will be removed from them.
This page also contains links which allow you to manage the pictures your gallery contains; remember to save any changes you have made before you use the links to navigate away from this page.
Change Preview Pic
To select or change a preview picture for this gallery, click the "Change Preview Pic" link. This thumbnail will be displayed wherever the gallery is linked to in your Scrapbook.
To edit the organization of photos in a gallery, click the "Pictures" link on the left column of the Manage Gallery page for that gallery. You can select one or more photos by clicking on them, and then use the buttons at the bottom of the page to perform various actions, including posting them to your journal. You can also edit a particular image's properties by clicking the "Pic" link below an image.
In particular, this page will allow you to re-order the images in this gallery. The arrows below each picture will move that photo to left or right one in the order. You can then save this order by clicking the "Save Positions" button at the bottom of the page.
Gallery Text and Security
The "Text & Security" link at the top of the Pictures page will allow you to edit your images' descriptions, title, tags and individual security settings. It will also allow you to edit the positions of the pictures, by changing the numbers in the "Pos" box. This allows you to more quickly edit the order of pictures, instead of moving them one by one (as in the previous section).
At the top of the page, you can select which picture size you want to use to view everything below that point, as well as the number of pictures you would like to edit at once. You should select what works best for you based on your Internet connection.
The Annotate page gives you another way to add text, descriptions and tags to your images. It allows you to work with all images in your gallery or only those as yet either un-tagged or un-titled. Selecting an image from the group of thumbnails on the left hand side will load up the full image on the right hand side together with a form to add tags, title and description; remember to save your changes before selecting another image.
If you wish to delete your gallery entirely, you can do so by clicking this link from the Manage Gallery page. You will then be asked to decide what should happen to the images in the gallery when it is removed. You can choose to have images not included in any other galleries moved to the unsorted gallery or deleted or to have all the images deleted whether or not they are in any other galleries; if you choose this option you will only be able to restore these images by re-uploading them to Scrapbook.
clicking on the "Upload Pictures" link will take you to the upload page with this gallery selected as the destination for uploaded images. Note that if this gallery is an unlinked gallery (that is it is not part of a tree that leads back up eventually to the top level of your Scrapbook) it will not be possible to upload directly into it. Instead your uploaded images will go to the unsorted gallery.